So much to love

There is so much to love in this world. Poetic genius, Samuel Taylor Coleridge reminds us to love all creatures in one of my favorite poems, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner.

“Beyond the shadow of the ship
I watched the water-snakes:
They moved in tracks of shining white,
And when they reared, the elfish light
Fell off in hoary flakes.

Within the shadow of the ship
I watched their rich attire:
Blue, glossy green, and velvet black,
They coiled and swam; and every track
Was a flash of golden fire.

O happy living things! no tongue
Their beauty might declare:
A spring of love gushed from my heart,
And I blessed them unaware”

I once loved a boa constrictor. When I was five  it saddened me to see him imprisoned in a small artificial environment at a local museum. As I got older I grew out of love with snakes, worms, and spiders. Yesterday I got reacquainted with a magnificent creature, sir snake.

Bless the snakes!

Leave a Reply

